Moebius BORG 55Ach/F10.9

This BORG achromat lens is slightly different from any previous BORG Ach lenses. First, air-spaced elements without using the spacing tips. (they were cemented) So entirely clean aperture.

2nd, multi-coat. (they were mono-coated).

So I was curious how solar viewing was.

I set my favorite IDAS D5.2 52mm filter, and replaced the original helical focuser with More Blue R&P focuser. It has no dual speed. But large knobs make fine focusing easier. As expected, it showed quite clean and high contrast view. Really very clean spots including tiny and faint sections.

I have realized this is a really good achromat telescope. Now I’m considering the another kit without the focuser from KENKO/BORG. Again, the modular design is quite big advantage for this kind of long telescope. Longest part after being taken apart is just 130mm long.

~ by tedishikawa on July 13, 2023.

Leave a comment