Canon Binoculars

One of good features in Canon binoculars is the filter thread in front of the objective lenses. 10 x42 allows to set 52mm and 15 x 50/18 x 50 for 55mm. This is my 10 x 42. I love it!! The features and performance justify the cost in my opinion. It creates very clean and bright image. If it is a little lighter, it would be perfect though.

UV-cut filters for the lens protection

Since there is barely the depth from the front edge to lens surface, I was feeling I really needed the protection.

With these binoculars, you can enjoy wonderful observing day and night by changing following filters.

LPS-P2-52, light pollution filter

LPS-V4-52, nebula filter

D52-52, Density 5.2 solar filter

And regular UV-cut filter for lens protection

With LPS filters

I bet IDAS new visual solar filter is the best match with these binoculars for coming solar events.

BTW, I will be leaving for Japan tomorrow. So probably I can’t update my blog for a while. Please wit for my coming-back.

~ by tedishikawa on February 15, 2012.

2 Responses to “Canon Binoculars”

  1. I also have a pair of the Canon 10X42 binocs, and they are wonderful just as Ted said.

    Here’s a great homemade piece of kit, which is easily constructed and transfers the weight of the binocs from the hands to your shoulders.

    http://www.skyandtelescope.com/howto/diy/Image-Stabilize-Your-Binoculars.html

    (Please note the wraparound URL. Well, that’s the way it appears while I’m composing this.)

    It looks sorta “funky,” but it is cheap, easy to make, and really does a good job!

  2. Hey! Where can I buy a solar filter, I really want to buy it !? Parvus888@gmail.com

Leave a comment