Eclipse Rehearsal & Large Magellan by 6DH

I noted the stage-by-stage procedure for the eclipse. This kind of preparation process is the fun as hobby. The sky condition is totally beyond my control. But at least I wanted to prepare as much as I can and to enjoy before that. Then, I pray the nature finally.

Anyway, I did 1st rehearsal before/after 2nd contact and at 3rd. Hinode SG keeps tracking entire eclipse period from 1st and 4th. That’s very good, at least this eliminates one major human job. During the totality, Promote Control allows me to completely focus on 90FL binoscope viewing. That’s nice. (I’m not sure what imaging result will be made though)

Based on my draft, I simulated the workflow by handling two camera controllers and solar filters.

 

Controllers look straight forward. One stop and another start, and vice versa. Filters are a bit pain. So I decided to cover 90FL bino with a T-shirt at 3rd contact. That should be really quick.

Bino platform collimation looks good/solid enough. So binoscope are ready to go as well. I wish this rehearsal will be real under the clear sky.

Canon 6DH user – Fraser Gunn in New Zealand shared an another gorgeous southern sky picture. Beautiful!

080117a

Here is his note.

The Large Magellanic Cloud taken with your Canon 6d. Using Ha, Hb, Oiii, Sii, Clear filters – approx 7hrs in total. Taken last night, using the Takahashi FSQ85ED telescope from the Canterbury University Mt John Observatory, New Zealand

~ by tedishikawa on August 1, 2017.

One Response to “Eclipse Rehearsal & Large Magellan by 6DH”

  1. Hey Ted,

    I began practice yesterday.

    I’m using the Borg 71FL with solar filter and a Canon 60DA with a Sigma 1.4X TC all on an original iOptron MiniTower, which is an excellent tracker if properly set up. That MT was turbonized by Steve Forbes with new bearings, etc. It has GPS so the go-to doesn’t care where you are.

    After some practice I just may go without the TC and keep things pretty simple. At totality, I’ll remove the filter.

    My location here in SC will be 0.2 mile from the center of totality, which will last 2 min. 30 sec. at the setup.

    Just hoping for some good weather.

    Better skies,

    Perry

Leave a Reply

 
