M33 through IDAS HEUIBII & LPS-V4

I was curious how LPS-V4 filter was useful to enhance galaxy’s HII regions. Originally LPS-V4 was designed only for nebulae as called nebula filter. So this use was not intended by IDAS designer. This simple blend with HEUIBII and LPS-V4 is looking good. Fortunately, I didn’t have to adjust the background color balance.

m33 BORG 90FL F4 + Cooled 6D + IDAS HEUIBII-52 (12 x 5′) + LPS-V4-52 (5 x 7′), no dark and flat applied

The result shows me there are more HII regions around outer spiral area than I expected.

Cooled camera’s built-in filter box allows me to switch multiple filters without re-focusing. BORG reducer units allows to do the same too. Now I feel this technique might become my imaging standard for all of objects including nebulae. HEUIBII filter maintains perfect color balance for modified DSLR while LPS-V4 enhanced Ha sections. I feel this is good combination. I did the same for M31. I will see later.

A deep red filter with LPS-V4 turns Ha narrowband filter. But I’m always hesitating to use Ha filter with one-shot color cameras since I feel losing the resolution. I don’t scientifically verify. But I just feel so though.

Next year, I will try to shoot same target with 107FL. I believe it should be nicer. 90FL F4 is obviously lack of focal length.

 

~ by tedishikawa on September 6, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
