Series 60 Ring (#7065) & Mercury Transit

New Series 60 mounting ring (# 7065) is now in stock. The mechanical design is identical to 7085 – Series 80 ring except the size.
7065

I have just changed my setup with new rings. There are many threaded holes. So it’s quite easy to attach small accessories such as a red-dot finder shown in a picture. Also the ring allows to set a ball head at the top or even side via 1/4″-20 male to male adapter. 0502a

Mercury transit is just a week away. I doubled checked my rig’s setting and performance. Eventually I picked 89ED + 1.4x teleconverter (# 7214). It’s 840 mm focal length. Still a plenty of extra room in micro 4/3rds sensor. But I think it’s realistic focal length and speed for me.

0502bHinode SG’s calibration and auto guiding was as usual. Camera exposure and shutter speed look proper. The mount looks good. So I think I’m ready. Only problem is the weather……  I might be forced to change the location. Let me keep watching the forecast.

~ by tedishikawa on May 2, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
