CP+ 2016 -4, Panasonic & Sigma

This is the last report on CP+. About other booths, during the show, the ones I was most interested were Panasonic and Sigma. Among camera manufacturers, Panasonic seemed to be most clarifying their technologies while using with video and displaying cutaway models and each key component by classical way. I was impressed at their stance. I like that. They just do like American style though. So I had good chance to learn their technologies and  wanted to share some with you.

Panasonic is an electronics giant as you know. But they are also known as a leading lens manufacturer too although some people might be surprised. For me, Panasonic equals to aspherical lens in Japanese optical industry. They have the excellent know-how to produce aspherical lens. My understanding is this is why Leica determined the partnership with Panasonic as a lens supplier. To produce aspherical lens and verify it is done as designed, they built up their own measuring instrument called UA3P from a scratch. This 3D measuring instrument without touching a lens is capable of reading the lens curve by 1/10,000 mm (0.1 micron!!). It’s amazing!! I believe nobody is sure the aspherical curve is produced as designed without this instrument. Following video shows such testing process. Probably all of lens manufacturers in the world use UA3P.

2nd video is demonstrating their unique AF technology – the predicted motion vector and so-called DFD(depth-from-defocus) focusing technique. On the monitor, the green section describes to keep tracking all of motion objects at same time and predict the direction of each movement in each component level. This looks amazing to me too. The camera keeps tracking even unfocused target as well. And by calculating speed and direction, the camera predict the vector value instantly, so that this minimizes focus delay for moving objects as much as it can. And the camera is always calculating the distance in-between. I was told this can be done only with Panasonic lens. So I thought each lens might have the buffer memory to instantly and continuously update the distance data time to time.

Last one is Sigma’s new Foveon camera. It looks the inter-changeable lens version from DP Quattro.

DSC_0678.JPGI want to applaud Sigma’s challenging spirit is still ongoing. I was told APS-C camera would be expected to come out this summer.  APS-H will be by end of this year. This is very attractive to me. I don’t think I can resist it when it will be available in the market. I understand Foveon sensor seems to be still sensitive disadvantage. The president, Yamaki san admitted that. But at least Foveon’s image result looks different from conventional bayer color sensors’, not only in the resolution but also in the depth of the color. I will keep my eye opened on this camera. I want to try to use that. BTW, always Sigma’s camera body is something unique or different from any others. That might be Sigma way as corporate culture.

 

 

~ by tedishikawa on March 9, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
