Takahashi PM-1 Fork Mount Version

As described earlier, Takahashi PM-1 mount has the versatility. I converted its German Equatorial mode into the Fork since I was curious how much lighter it would be. The difference of my feeling is very much, more than I expected. The weight difference mostly comes from 2 x 1.5kg counterweight. Now more comfortable for me to lift the whole set up and carry all together. The solidness still remains unchanged as Takahashi standard.

_DSF3016Takahashi clamshell holder doesn’t allow to set Hinode SG at the top. So I set finder base onto the BORG drawtube holder. _DSF3017

Looks very nice setup to me. The drawbacks of the fork configuration are

  • Not allowed to point to the north for most of scopes. Generally 45 degree is maximum.
  • The scope blocks the sight of polar scope.

For the time being, I plan to use this setup for solar imaging.

~ by tedishikawa on October 21, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
