Canon IS Binoculars

Finally I received the long-waiting 10×30 and 12×36 binoculars.

12x36I still own 10x42L model. It’s great optically and mechanically. But it’s a bit heavy and bulky. These new models are much lighter and more compact. So I thought they should be good for solar viewing. I start playing it around. As expected, image was very clean and good color contrast. IS looks strongly working. IS allowed me to read small characters I couldn’t figure out when IS was OFF. This is why I can’t go back to use the conventional binoculars without IS function any more.

Now we will start studying how to attach IDAS high-quality solar filter since these models have no threads in front. I felt 42 mm aperture was a bit too bright for my eye through the filters. (The brightness was perfect through telescopes) So 30 mm or 36 mm aperture might be the proper sizes for solar viewing. We will see.

~ by tedishikawa on September 16, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
