Olympus E-M5 Mark II

I didn’t need the time to consider once I saw new EM-5. Although I’m not sure I will use this camera for regular photography, definitely I try to use and see the result for my solar/lunar imaging, and birding video hand-held with BORG scopes. Olympus engineers did really great job. I can’t imagine how precisely the sensor is controlled micron by micron. Half-pixel should be 1 to 2 microns. More advanced 5-axis in-body IS and a new sensor shift must be great technology in engineering as well as manufacturing. 1st generation of 5-axis IS was still great. I wonder how much further advanced….. It’s amazing.

PDP_F2_silver

Originally I was waiting for the camera which automatically composites multiple shots into one frame for Ha solar imaging. My goal is the solar time-lapse movie. So stacking multiple shots to creates each one frame is really painful. This high-resolution mode is slightly different from what I expected. But 8 shots stacking might still somehow contribute to the better S/N, I hope. Also I’m curious how 64MP resolution in half of full frame sensor is effective under air turbulence condition. Anyway, very interesting feature and the technology we can feel the future. I was told SONY plans the similar technique to achieve Foveon-like result. Actually this EM-5’s 1st 4-shot process looks same technique to capture RGB data into each pixel. 2nd 4-shot process by shifting 0.5x pixel by 0.5 pixel should be for higher resolution while interpolating each color. So looks great mix of two different processes.

Even though the camera might not meet my expectation completely, I want to applaud Olympus’s challenging spirit and its achievement. At least I can feel the value as their efforts I want to spend without hesitation. If possible, I wish Olympus to move the manufacturing facility for this type of high-end camera back to Japan.

The camera seems to be available end of this month. Before that, probably I can actually see it at CP+ in Japan next week. Only issue for going to Japan this time is very cold and possibly snowing. I’m a spoiled California guy.

 

~ by tedishikawa on February 5, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
