71FL Bino

One of excellent designs on AOK bino platform is to allow to easily convert between EQ mode and alt-az mode. Equatorial mode is very good for high power planetary viewing with smooth tracking. But mount system is heavier and bulkier along with counterweight. Then I thought alt-az setup was more convenient in casual low power sky surfing. So I decided to convert mine into alt-az mode.

71flbino2 71flbino1This is 71mm fluorite binoscope with alt-az platform. Now I can lift up the whole equipment including tripod by single hand. Then, I don’t hesitate taking it out at all whenever I wish to go. It turns the real grab-n-go system now.

See my original setup

89ed-1The same base still allows to collimate and adjust inter-pupillary distance. Also I noticed alt-az setup is ideal for daytime terrestrial viewing too. AOK bino platform is really excellent design.

 

 

~ by tedishikawa on December 18, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
