Astroplan Eyepieces

Since I was not familiar with Astroplan eyepieces and basically not visual observer, I studied a bit. Probably most people already knew that. But I didn’t. Anyway, I hope this is good reference to whom are not familiar like me.

My 1st surprise was Astroplan’s “plan” was not English. As usual, it comes from German. Since I thought it was in English, I was always wonderin how this names come from??. Now I understand Plan was “plain” in English. So this might be able to be said a kind of the field flattener built-in Plossel. Some say Super Plossel. And Astroplan was more recently designed by Carl Zeiss.  Slightly longer eye relief and better corrections than regular Plossel. So this should be wonderful planetary eyepieces. I will try to use them with my 125SD bino. It should be fun.

 

 

~ by tedishikawa on October 3, 2012.

2 Responses to “Astroplan Eyepieces”

  1. Any updates on how the astroplans work in you bono?

    • Chris

      Thanks for your post. Astroplans work with our Binos very well.
      I don’t think there is any issue in this combination. Astroplans looks
      best match with barlow. It will be higher power and better image quality
      with barlows.

      Ted

      Ted

Leave a Reply

 
