Telephoto Lens with Guide Scope

The customer’s inquiry encouraged me to test myself since I was always curious about putting something at the top of the guide scope. Mini Borg’s tube rings (7060) has M6 threaded at the top. But it’s round shape. So I was interested in knowing how reliable it was.

Very solid!! As long as two screws properly tightened down, the plate got completely rigid. There is nothing to be worried about. This allows me to shoot two imaging sessions at the same time. I can highly recommend this way if someone was looking for this concept.

This is another possibility.

This makes me more fun for imaging.

~ by tedishikawa on February 7, 2012.

3 Responses to “Telephoto Lens with Guide Scope”

  1. Hey Ted,
    Have you tried a heavier lens? I found when scope is pointing to sky or at an angle, the camera is not very sturdy and slides when using the single hole camera mount.
    I would be interested in a way to mount using some sort of universal bracket that held the lens – instead of the camera body. Do you have any suggestions?

    • Daljit,

      What lens did you try to use?
      As long as it is less than 100mm, I don’t think there is issues you are concerned.
      Personally I don’t like ball-head. So if yours is telephoto lens with the mounting bracket, example 2(2nd picture) – pan head + lens mounting is better. That makes more expensive though.

      Ted

  2. The 70-200mm ED has the lens bracket, but the 14-24mm ED and the DX700 – It is pretty heavy configuration – so was looking for alternative mount to stop it from rotating because of the single camera mount screw.

Leave a Reply

 
